KJ Johnson named as Mr. Basketball finalist

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Marshall County’s KJ Johnson, the reigning Class 2A Mr. Basketball has been nominated as one of the three finalists for this year’s award.
Tribune photo by Anthony S. Puca

Marshall County High School senior and Lipscomb University signee KJ Johnson has been named as one of the three finalists for the 2019 Class 2A Mr. Basketball Award. The other two finalists are Blake Atwood (Johnson County) and Chandler Lawson (Wooddale). Johnson won the award last year over Jayden Lockett (East Nashville) and Jessie Walker (Brainerd).

The awards will be presented to the top girls and boys in five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on the floor of Murphy Center on the campus of Middle Tennessee State University at a time and date to be announced in mid-February. The decision will be based on possible scheduling issues involving Conference USA and MTSU. A reception for the finalists and their families will be held prior to the awards presentation.

A statewide committee of sportswriters selected winners based on performance during the 2018-2019 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head basketball coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

This is the 35th year that the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school basketball players. American General was the sponsor of the event since the inception of the awards in 1985 until 2001. The Memphis Grizzlies were sponsors of the awards from 2002-2004. From 2005-2015 the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards were presented at the conclusion of each respective championship game as part of the post-game trophy ceremony.

2019 Mr. and Miss Basketball Finalists

Division II-A Miss Basketball Finalists

Casey Collier, Webb School of Knoxville

Emily Jones, USJ

Ally Welfel, Goodpasture

Division II-AA Miss Basketball Finalists

Maggie Brown, Brentwood Academy

Dontavia Waggoner, Ensworth

Kaiya Wynn, Ensworth

Class A Miss Basketball Finalists

Macey Lee, Trinity Christian

Chloe Moore-McNeil, Greenfield

Karly Weathers, Loretto

Class AA Miss Basketball Finalists

Kimia Carter, Brainerd

Gracee Dishman, Cumberland County

Braelyn Wykle, South Greene

Class AAA Miss Basketball Finalists

Jada Guinn, Oak Ridge

Madison Hayes, East Hamilton

Jayla Hemingway, Houston

Division II-A Mr. Basketball Finalists

Luke Howard, Harding Academy

Keon Johnson, The Webb School

Grant Ledford, Grace Christian (Knoxville)

Division II-AA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Randy Brady, Brentwood Academy

Kennedy Chandler, Briarcrest

Beyuan Hendricks, Baylor

Class A Mr. Basketball Finalists

Ja’darius Harris, Peabody

Anthony Jones, Humboldt

Catthadious Moore, Manassas

Class AA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Blake Atwood, Johnson County

Kadrion Johnson, Marshall County

Chandler Lawson, Wooddale

Class AAA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Antavion Collum, Bartlett

Ques Glover, Bearden

James Wiseman, Memphis East