Local youth attend the 72nd Annual Tennessee 4-H Congress

Thursday, April 11, 2019

Lewisburg, Tenn. — For over 70 years, 4-H members from across Tennessee gathered in Nashville for Tennessee 4-H Congress. The annual event, which took place March 18th-20th, gave 4-H’ers the opportunity to learn about the day-to-day functioning of state government by assuming the roles of state representatives and senators. Since it’s beginning in 1948, 4-H Congress has given more than 34,000 4-H’ers and volunteer leaders firsthand experience in state government.

Three Marshall County 4-H members joined an additional 300 ninth and tenth grade 4-H’ers from all over the state to become legislators and form a “junior” state Congress. They had an opportunity to debate and vote on youth-oriented bills in the House and Senate Chambers. In addition to learning about government and the state capitol, delegates met one on one with local legislators. 4-H’ers also competed in an essay contest based off the 2018 4-H theme “Tennessee 4-H: A Roadmap to Success.” The winner of the Marshall County contest was JW Beasley.

In addition to learning about state government, delegates participated in a number of other activities including the Tennessee 4-H Congress Pageant, a luncheon on the General Jackson Showboat, the election of the 2019 Tennessee 4-H Congress officers, the inaugural ball and a service-learning project.

The theme for the Tennessee 4-H Congress service project is “Our Hands to a Larger Service.” Delegates collected items to benefit local school children in Murfreesboro. The items collected were distributed to all of the twelve schools within the Murfreesboro City Schools district.

Youth attended from Marshall County at the 2019 Tennessee 4-H Congress were JW Beasley, Mason Collins, and Rabeth Ryan. Shawna Ryan served as the Volunteer Leader for the Marshall County group.

Through its mission of research, teaching and extension, the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture touches lives and provides Real. Life. Solutions. ag.tennessee.edu