County GOP awards scholarships

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

The Marshall County Republican Party would like to congratulate the recipients of our 2019 and first ever Marshall County Republican Party scholarships. This year our party created our first ever scholarship program led by a committee of five individuals: Billy Spivey, Sam Smith, Robin Minor, Vincent Cuevas, and Craig Blackwell. The committee received over a dozen applications; however, only one graduating senior from each of the counties three high

schools was selected to receive a plaque and $500 scholarship. The main requirement for the scholarship was the submission of an essay which topic was “If I could add an amendment to the United States Constitution what would it be and why?”. The selected recipients for 2019 are Jenna Cheatham from Marshall County High School, Gabriel King from Cornersville High School, and Cynthia Coe from Forrest High School. Each of the recipients were presented with a custom plaque on senior night featuring our new party logo, additionally they along with their parents have been invited to be guests of the Marshall County Republican Party at our annual GOP dinner on June 20, 2019 at the Lewisburg recreation center. At the dinner they will be recognized and presented with their scholarship checks, and have the opportunity to read their essays in front of local, state, and federal elected officials, party members, and dinner guests.