Maxwell Football Club Announces Players of the Week - Week Ten


Each week during the 2020 season the Maxwell Football Club will recognize outstanding performances with two weekly awards. The Maxwell Award Player of the Week will be recognized for overall performance on offense, defense or special teams, and the Chuck Bednarik Award Player of the Week will be honored for outstanding defensive play. Players selected do not have to be represented on the Maxwell or Bednarik Award watch lists.

Maxwell Award Player of the Week

Kyle Trask – QB - Florida

Florida quarterback Kyle Trask has been named Maxwell Award Player of the Week after leading the Gators past Georgia last Saturday in Jacksonville. Trask became the first player in SEC history to throw four touchdown passes in five consecutive games. That the latest effort came against the talented Bulldog D to seize control of the SEC East Division made it extra special. The Gators applied the knockout punch in the first half, and Trask went on to finish 30-of-43 for 474 yards, those four scoring strikes and a pick. It’s been 20 years since the Bulldogs have allowed that many passing yards in a game.

Bednarik Award Player of the Week

Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah –

LB - Notre Dame

Notre Dame linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah was named the Chuck Bednarik Award Player of the Week following Saturday’s win over No. 1 ranked Clemson. The Tigers 36-game regular season winning streak ended in South Bend, and while there were 87 combined points in the double-overtime thriller, the Irish defense played well in the box… particularly Owusu-Koramoah. The playmaking rover operates like a guided missile, who also happens to be shooting up NFL Draft boards. In Saturday’s upset, Owusu-Koramoah helped hold the top-ranked Tigers to one yard a carry while making nine tackles, 2.5 stops for loss, a half-sack, forcing a fumble and returning another for a score.

The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association(NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here