Community Notices

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

The Marshall County Soil Conservation District will be holding its annual tree giveaway this spring. Loblolly Pine, Southern Red Oak, and Virginia Christmas Pine trees will be available. If you are interested in receiving free trees, please contact the District at (931)359-6268 Ext. #3. We are not Tree City or Friends of Horton Park who also sale/giveaway trees. We are the original annual tree giveaway in Marshall County and need to continue to notify the public each year.

The South Cental Human Resource Agency Head Start/Early Head Start Policy Council will meet at 10:30 a.m. on Mar. 23, 2017, at the South Central Human Resource Agency Central Office, in Fayetteville, TN.

Marshall County Board Of Commissioners Regular Meeting will be held On Mar. 27, 2017, at 6 p.m. in the Courthouse Annex kitchen area Room 2209.

Lewisburg Electric System will hold their regular Board meeting on Monday, Mar. 27, 2017, 6 p.m. at the LES Office, 599 W. Ellington Pkwy. The meeting is open to the public.

Marshall County Beer Board will meet Mar. 27, 2017, at 5:30 p.m. in room 2209 in the Courthouse Annex.

The Community Development Board of the City of Lewisburg will hold their monthly meeting Tuesday, Mar. 28, 2017, at 12 p.m., at the Historic 1st Avenue Building, 207 1st Avenue.

The South Central Human Resource Agency Policy Council and Executive Committee meetings are scheduled for Mar. 28, 2017, at 11 a.m., at the SCHRA Central Office, 1437 Winchester Hwy., Fayetteville, TN. The Budget, Property and Personnel Committees will meet at the same office, prior to the Policy Council and Executive Committee meeting at 10:15 a.m.

The Cornersville Planning Commission will have a meeting on Mar. 28, 2017, at 6:30 p.m. at Town Hall in Cornersville.

The Lewisburg Housing Authority will conduct its Annual and Regular Monthly Board Meetings on Tuesday, Mar. 28, 2017, with the annual meeting beginning at 6 p.m. and the regular board meeting to follow. The meetings will take place at the George W. Turner Community Building located at 741 Silver Street.

The Marshall County Emergency Communications District Board of Directors has scheduled their monthly meeting for Wednesday, Mar. 29 at 9 a.m. The meeting will be held at the Marshall County EOC office located at 230 College St., Lewisburg, TN.

Marshall County Schools will have pre-K registration 2017-2018 at the following: Oak Grove Elementary School, 1645 Franklin Road, Lewisburg; Thursday, Mar. 30, 2017, 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. There are guidelines and requirements that must be met in order to register for the 2017-2018 school year.

The Marshall County Retired Teachers Association is offering two types of scholarships to students planning to go into the teaching profession. One is for high school students planning to major in the field of teaching. The other is for college juniors/seniors who are majoring in education. Either of the applications may be picked up at any of the three county high school guidance departments. The college applications are also available at the public library. The deadline for application submission is April 21, 2017.