Cross Country runners finish up the season in style

Wednesday, November 7, 2018
The Marshall County cross country teams gather for a photo before the start of the race.
Photos submitted

On Thursday, October 18 at Henry Horton State Park all three county teams participated in the Best of Marshall County Meet.

From left are the top 10 boys in order of finish, Zack Sheppard (MCHS), Luke Ledford (Cornersville), Jackson Ackels (MCHS), Leslie Bishop (MCHS), Krew Kapps (MCHS), Eli Hinds (Cornersville), Daylon Closson (MCHS), Aaron Collins (MCHS), JW Beasley (MCHS), and Elijah Sterkel (Cornersville).

The Marshall County High School Boys and Girls Team won the meet as MCHS runners also won first place in the both the boys and girls individual portion of the meet. Zack Sheppard won the boys meet with a time of 18:22 and Makynlee Amis won the girls meet with a time of 22:27.

The Forrest girls finished third in the Region 6 Meet and ran in the state tournament on Saturday at Percy Warner where they finished in 10th place out of 22 teams.

From left are the top 10 girls in order of finish, Makynlee Amis (MCHS), Naomi Hopper (MCHS), Sorrell Martin (Cornersville), Zoe Long (Forrest), Shelby King (Forrest), Sami Chumley (Cornersville), Abbie Collins (MCHS), Micah Reasonover (Forrest), Brady Phillips (MCHS), and Hanna Lovins (Forrest).

Cornersville’s Sorrell Martin and Luke Ledford both won spots in the individual portion of the state tournament.

Cornersville Cross Country finished their season with Sorrell Martin and Luke Ledford competing as individuals in the State Cross Country meet on Saturday. Sorrell finished 26th out of 171 girls with a PR time of 22:45 and Ledford finished 82nd out of 182 boys with a time of 19:44.

State Tournament Results

Saturday, November 3 at Percy Warner Park in Nashville

Forrest Girls Team

36-Zoe Long (23:28.03 27)

39-Shelby King (23:33.97 29)

81-Hannah Villazon (25:15.84)

100-Addison Bunty (26:09.59)

113-Karley Daughrity (26:33.65)

133-Saryna Kurtz (28:05.37)

Cornersville Individuals


26-Sorrell Martin (22:45.44)


82-Luke Ledford (19:44.54)

For full results see